Review: Made You Up by Francesca Zappia.

Made You Up
Made You Up by Francesca Zappia

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


“What you loved as a child, you will love forever.”

Wow, I am shocked, i really didn’t expect that it would be this good.

Made You Up is a book, that will make you question everything you know. It griped me from the very first page. I was real wary to read it, because Mental Illness book doesn’t dwell well with me, because Literally in every book the illness is dragged, and i know it because its my it my field of expertise, we literally work hard to know and treat these patients and for me it’s literally eye rolling scene whenever they dragged a illness and treat it wrong.

That’s why I am really picky when it comes to Mental Illness books, I am not saying this book was perfect in the “Mental Illness” Department but it was good if compared to other books of this kind. Surely there was a little bit dragging out at some points but that is reasonable because nothing is perfect. and the second reason of may wariness was the title, “Made You Up” for me its like the title is speaking that you will read it and believe it and then i will make it all go, on the very last page. and Believe me i was waiting for the shoe to be dropped till the last fucking page, it was like i am reading a thriller not a contemporary.


“Dear Asshole:
Thank you for keeping your word and believing me. It was more than I expected. Also, I’m sorry you were inconvenienced by my gluing your locker shut at the beginning of this year. However, I am not sorry that I did it, because it was a lot of fun.
Love, Alex.”

             
Made You Up is book, full of Love, friendship, hardships, highschool bullies, bitches, detentions, first love, paranoia, mental illness, suspense that will kill you till the very last page, family hardships and LIFE.

Alex well truth to be told when it comes to female MC’s i really am not a big fan of female characters and only some of them made a place in my heart and Alex was one of them, a twisted teenager with Schizophrenia, who can’t tell what’s the difference between real and hallucinations. what she was dealing with was really difficult to comprehend because how can we live when out of nowhere the thing became a hallucination when al of your life you think that it was real?? Alex was a victim of paranoia from her childhood she don’t do anything without a perimeter check and don’t even eat anything because it might had anykind of poison, she don’t even touch anyone or let them touch her. I loved her strength yeah for me she was brave, because who would have strength to live a normal life where everyone thinks you are crazy?? I am sucker for twisted characters and she was one of the most twisted persons. I loved her sense of humour. The girl had a really good spirits even the world of her was crumbling form its axis.

Miles, well if i start explaining miles it would be a sort of rambling from a fangirl not a review so for miles i would just highlight some points or you’ll be the victim of poppy’s fangirl episode.
♥ He is the MOST heart-breaking soft and loving Asshole, I’ve ever read.
♥ He is a jerk who plays pranks on everyone for money because of the most emotional reason yo’ll ever find
♥ He protects everyone is loves. Even if it cause him to do anything.
♥ He loves Alex.
♥ He was complex, Intriguing, heartbroken, and a confuse personalty with a witty sense humour.
♥ I loved his “Quirked one eyebrow raised” expression . ahh the butterflies!
♥ and he is MILES what not to love about him. and
♥ He has Alexithymia- a mental illness in which you can’t comprehend your or anyone’s emotions.
♥ And yet he was always there when anyone needs him, when alex need him.
♥ THE END ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

 

“I am real. This”–he put his other hand over the first-“is real. You see me interacting with other people all day long, don’t you? I talk to people; I affect things in the world. I cause things to happen. I am real.”

“But-but what if this whole place”-I had to suck in air again-“what if everything is inside my head? East Shoal and Scarlet and this bridge and you-what if you’re not real because nothing is real?”

“If nothing’s real, then what does it matter?” he said. “You live here. Doesn’t that make it real enough?”

Alex & Miles was together was everything you’ll ever need, i loved the interaction and their little pranks that they put on eachother and and and their 3 turn 20 ask me something question game were hilarious, these two history junkies know almost everything and i loved them. There was so many moments that i laugh out loud on their pranks and interactions they never did make me bore or roll my eyes on them. They both were crushed but whole with eachother. I just adored them so much!!

Did i tell you that other than Alex and Miles, i almost loved EVERYONE in this book, even the bitch celia and the psycho McCoy, this book was packed with suspense and will make you glued to your seat till the very last page, i was shocked to learn how this book can deal with the mental illness with a really suspenseful plot at the very same time. Francesca Zappia i must say you really made a fine piece of work with this book, literally outstanding. I was rooting for the MC’s from the very first page. this was the mother of SLOW BURN ROMANCE but it won’t bore you to death with it, i swear! 😛


“No, you’re not a bad person,” he said.
“And Richter isn’t a bad person, and I’m not a bad person. We’re just people, and people sometimes do stupid things.”

Well you must be thinking that if i loved this book so much why i didn’t give it 5 Stars well because there are still something that we didn’t get the answers clearly and that made me a little bit of wary and i wanted a Epilogue which was not there. But overall i really loved this book. So, Read it guys, what are you waiting for, i mean LITERALLY YOU HAVE TO READ THIS ASAP!

Leave a Reply

