Review: Strong Signal by Megan Erickson.

Strong Signal
Strong Signal by Megan Erickson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


“”Sir, what’s your emergency?
Oh, nothing, just about passed out watching my online Army boyfriend beat off.
Sir, please don’t use this line for non-emergencies.
Have you seen my Army boyfriend? You’d have a heart attack too.
Sir, I’m hanging up now.””

I have never read anything like that in my whole-gamer-turn-bookworm life. Strong Signal got me hooked from the very first page to the last. I just love both of them so much. For the very first time i can’t seem to choose which of them i liked the most. I like both of them. They are my babies. Not once did i felt boring by reading this.

This was not our typical online-friends-turn-real-life-boyfriends book, its was not sappy, cliche read. It was really different from other books. Not only did the author portrayed the online social status friendship and gaming zone gamers and the social quirk about gays being queer and can’t be gamers but also author discussed very important topic of social anxiety and it was really well written. I loved every second of this book.


“I didn’t care how unbeatable this Samwise fuckface thought he was. I’d figure out how to beat him eventually. And then I’d dance on his green corpse. After”

Garrett and Kai first meet on a online game on which Kai beat the ass of Garrett and left him really annoyed with him. And hence it comes the curiosity of Garrett to see who the hell was samwise which was Kai’s gamer name. and it lead him to Kai’s gamer channel and he was stunned to see how beautiful Kai was. And what started with just a simple email to warn Kai that social media can also be harmful turned into a beautiful friendship and then later a hot as fuck skype relationship.


“I’ll do long distance, but I don’t want to. I want you with me all the time. I want to watch you play games and stream on Twitch. I want to fucking wake up with you and have you teach me how to cook, and we can’t do that over Skype.” Garrett looked away as his voice grew thicker. “But I’ll do it. I’d rather have you that way than not at all.”

It was really entertaining to see how their relationship developed from emails to G-msg and then to Skype. With Garrrett’s deployment about to end in some week, Kai can’t resist to feel the sudden panic about Garrett finding about about his social anxiety and knowing that he can’t even go out of his apartment. It was a thrill to watch both of them fighting for eachother and having a online-relationship, which i’ve never every read about.


“I’m outta here soon, Kai,” he said. “I’ll be home.”
“I’m so happy for you.”
“Yeah, but that means I get to see you. That means I get to finally touch you. You want to know how often I think about that? Every day. All the time.”

I just loved Garrett and Kai, their combo was out of this world. I loved Garrett the dirty talker and Kai being very cute and all jolly personality. I especially loved that Kai was not our young-horny-needy kindof MC. Their relationship was like reading a hot burn romance novel. I was anxious to see what will happen when they will meet in a real life because no matter how much of online we talk, Reality is reality.

Totally Recommended to every MM lover and to every bookworm who want to explore this genre. Start with this book and believe me you will NOT regret it. It’s worth your while.

 

Leave a Reply

