Review: Crush by Richard Siken.

Crush
Crush by Richard Siken

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Well, HONESTLY speaking I started this book with really high hope’s. Richard Siken is pretty much an spectacular writer, but this book was JUST not for me! The style and writing was awesome, if I was a critic I would’ve rated this book a 5star, but NO I am NOT a critic and I will only give mty precious stars to the book I love!!


“Tell me how all this, and love too, will ruin us.
These, our bodies, possessed by light.
Tell me we’ll never get used to it.”

But some poetry hit home!! Like literally it touched my heart!! The start was so good that I thought WOW IT’S GONNA BE A MASTERPIECE. But I was wrong, I don’t know why was this hype about. This book was all about blood, stitches, roads, dreams. and some of the poems was so confusing, I didn’t even get what exactly the poet was trying to convey. I just couldn’t relate my self with the narrator. It was really annoying how his moods were shifting through every verse. At one point it was hard getting from one page to another. Although, this book was pretty much short.
I liked some of poetry which made me want to finish this book. So, I did and here we are giving this book a 2 Star, JUST because I liked some poetry, and DAMN what a poetry that was! Made me incapable of escaping this book.


“Tell me how all this, and love too, will ruin us.
These, our bodies, possessed by light.
Tell me we’ll never get used to it.”

These Lines really hit home. It was so beautiful that for a second I thought DAMN man, it’s something else!!



“Tell me about the dream where we pull the bodies out of the lake
and dress them in warm clothes again.
How it was late, and no one could sleep, the horses running
until they forget that they are horses.
It’s not like a tree where the roots have to end somewhere,
it’s more like a song on a policeman’s radio,
how we rolled up the carpet so we could dance, and the days
were bright red, and every time we kissed there was another apple
to slice into pieces.
Look at the light through the windowpane. That means it’s noon, that means
we’re inconsolable.
Tell me how all this, and love too, will ruin us.
These, our bodies, possessed by light.
Tell me we’ll never get used to it.”

How can love ruin us?? It can’t Love make us see light and sometimes the fucking stars, it make us see this world in new light and make us think every thought twice. We can literally see before and after love that how much it changed us. and i loved how author point out the real meaning behind it. These were the moment I LOVED this book very much. I hoped that every line would’ve been THIS great for me!! But unfortunately this was NOT for me.


“A man takes his sadness down to the river and throws it in the river
but then he’s still left
with the river. A man takes his sadness and throws it away
but then he’s still left with his hands.”

2 STARS for this beautiful lines!! JUST because of these, nothing more, nothing else.

 

Leave a Reply

