Review: The Poetry of Pablo Neruda

The Poetry of Pablo Neruda
The Poetry of Pablo Neruda by Pablo Neruda

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I Liked Pablo Neruda’s writing, I believe his raw passion speaks to all of us on a universal level. It’s so human and bare, it is his monument left to us. This is an amazing collection which begins with his early work to his retrospective years, it shows you this amazing evolution of his writing and how powerful it becomes. Some poems really hit home where some of them really confused me. These poems really made this book a quite interesting read for me.

                                                   And I in these lines say:
Like this I want you, love,

love, Like this I love you,
as you dress
and how your hair lifts up
and how your mouth smiles,
light as the water
of the spring upon the pure stones,
Like this I love you, beloved…”
-Pablo Neruda

I no longer love her, that’s certain, but how I loved her.
My voice tried to find the wind to touch her hearing.

Another’s. She will be another’s. Like my kisses before.
Her voice. Her bright body. Her infinite eyes.

I no longer love her, that’s certain, but maybe I love her.
Love is so short, forgetting is so long.

Because through nights like this one I held her in my arms
my soul is not satisfied that it has lost her.

 

                                   “I will bring you happy flowers from the mountains, bluebells, dark hazels, and                                           rustic baskets of kisses.
I want to do with you what spring does with the cherry trees.”

 

You discovered
His thoughts,
His words, his love,
His passionate
Intensity
In a tiny book
That’s now
Well-fingered.
Then you added your own
Unique voice, your arms
Your legs, your body
And your love,
So that in turn
You might be loved
And you were
And still, my heart,
Again, you are.

This is definitely my first book of Pablo’s but not the last. I am looking forward to his writing. Highly Recommended to poetry & Classic Lovers.

Leave a Reply

